top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Big Bad Wolf 2016 Book Haul

MERRY CHRISTMAS! So, if you don't know already, I am a huge bookaholic. I love reading, I love books, I love smelling books and all of that 'reading helps someone escape the reality' stuff. Long story short, I love buying books and getting broke besides having a weird obsession towards tiny cactus-es? Is that how they spell it or is it cacti? Who cares, it's the Internet and there's shit even weirder than this that can never be erased.

Every twice a year, I go to this biggest book sale here in Malaysia called the Big Bad Wolf in which books are sold for the cheapest price. So here are the books I got for the second sale of the year 2016 that I went. The book list is according to the arrangement in the picture that I've added and I won't say much about the book since I'll be linking the goodreads page for each book in case you guys wanted more info, ratings etc on the books. Just click on the title of the book and you will be magically teleported to its goodreads page :) Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (I couldn't find the edition that I got in goodreads which is the hardback classic library edition) Everyone knows Jane Austen and I'm extremely ashamed to admit that I've never read any of Jane Austen's books before (don't kill me!) but I really am excited to read this book. It's basically a historic romance in which young Elizabeth Bennet strives for love, independence and honesty in the vapid high society of 19th century England. That's all I'm gonna say because obviously everyone has already know about this literature piece since it's really kinda old. Yours Truly by Kirsty Greenwood A newly engaged girl named Natalie Butterworth accidentally blurts out something that offends her fiancé one night when she encounters a hypnotist in a pub. So what happens next when the hypnotist disappears without reversing the 'always say the truth' spell on her? So, she goes on a hunt in tracking down the hypnotist before her marriage is cancelled.

Summer's Shadow by Anna Wilson Summer is forced to stay with her uncle, Tristan in Cornwall after her mum passes away. But then she soon realize that her aunty and her cousin are not too fond of her and she believes that the house she is living in is haunted. But is it haunted by ghosts, or by the shadows of her family's past? She also meets her first love while spending time in a cove that she discovered nearby her uncle's house. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick I've only watched the movie and I've never read the book before. I loved the movie so much that I was so tempted to get this book. It's basically about a guy named Pat who has bipolar disorder and gets admitted in a psychiatric hospital after he catches his wife, Nikki cheating on him. After being released from the hospital, he stays with his parents, gets fit and is determined to reconcile with his wife. Here's also a link to this Academy Award-winning film starring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence.

A Tale For The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki This book caught my attention because to be honest I was confused with its synopsis in an extremely good way. I'm too excited to read this book and I'm not gonna lie, I have so much expectations for it. In the Pacific Northwest, a Hello Kitty lunchbox washes up on the beach with a diary of a sixteen year old Japanese girl named Nao Yasutani tucked in it. Ruth who is a writer finds it and suspects that it is debris from Japan's 2011 tsunami. Meanwhile in Tokyo, Nao, uprooted from her home in the U.S., bullied at school and watching her parents spiral deeper into disaster, has decided to end her life. But first she wants to recount the story of her great grandmother, a 104 year old Zen Buddhist nun.

We Are Called To Rise by Laura McBride Far from the neon lights of the Vegas strip, three lives are about to collide. A middle-aged woman attempting to revive her marriage. A returning soldier waking up in a hospital bed with no memory of how he got there. A very brave eight year old immigrant boy. Three lives are bound together by a split-second mistake. I was so astonished by all those comments given by famous authors about this book that I just had to grab this book. You can read it by clicking on the goodreads page of this book. The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks Do I even need to talk about this book? Nicholas Sparks is and will always be the most amazing author that ever lived. I always never fail to fall in love with his book and I'm sure I will with this book too. Therefore, if you want to know more on this book click the goodreads page because it's better that way than me explaining about this beautiful book. The Lying-Down Room by Anna Jaquiery I have no idea what this book is about whatsoever besides knowing its synopsis. I also just realized from goodreads that is the first book in the Serge Morel series? I have no idea what to expect so check out it's goodreads page for more stuffs on this book. After Alice by Gregory Maguire It has a quite low ratings on goodreads but I still am looking forward to reading this book because I immediately fell for it after reading its synopsis. It is basically like a retelling of Alice In The Wonderland but with a twist in which a minor character from the original book who's a friend of Alice, named Ada falls into the rabbit hole right after Alice does. There starts the adventure of Ada trying to find/save Alice in this magical world called The Wonderland. Us by David Nicholls This book which I am currently reading and so far enjoying is about Douglas Peterson who his wife wants a divorce after being together for thirty years and married, also having a seventeen year old son named Albie. So, Us is basically the story of a man trying to rescue his relationship with the woman he loves and learning how to get closer to a son who’s always felt like a stranger. Sense & Sensibility by Joanna Trollope This is a modern retelling of Jane Austen's classic Sense and Sensibility. So, you must be aware of this story and I am very much excited to read the modern version of it. Check out more on this book on goodreads. So that is all the books that I have purchased during this sale. If you guys want a review on specific books that I have listed above or you guys have any recommendations that you want me to review, do leave a comment, I promise I'll look into it besides posting non-book-related posts because life's too short to be having a single topic based website. JK I'm too lazy and not cut out for such responsibility. ;) xx, shalini


bottom of page